Jonathan Hardin Chapter


DAR awards Good Citizens

Article Image Alt Text

Chosen for the DAR's Good Citizens Awards was Jashaughn Hatcher, Fairfield; Ty Stephen Hale, Groesbeck; and Haylee Young, Teague. The students are pictured with DAR Regent Nancy McSwane.
Courtesy photo

The Jonathan Hardin Chapter, NSDAR, awarded three area students with this year’s DAR Good Citizens Award at their recent meeting. Taking home $50, a certificate, and a U.S. Constitution Handbook were:


Good Citizens awarded by DAR

Article Image Alt Text

Haley DeFriend (left), of Groesbeck, placed first in the DAR Good Citizen contest, while Kyle Kirgan (right), of Fairfield, placed second. The students are pictured with Jonathan Hardin Chapter Regent Aleece McBay.

Courtesy photo

Jonathan Hardin Chapter Regent Aleece McBay introduced the recipients for the DAR Good Citizen Award at the recent meeting. This program recognizes outstanding young people who exhibit the qualities of good citizenship in their homes, schools, and communities.

This year's winners were:

  • Haley DeFriend – Groesbeck; first place; $100
  • Kyle Kirgan – Fairfield; second place; $75

The program is open to all high school seniors in Limestone and Freestone counties enrolled in public or private schools accredited by the state board of education. The students are then selected with having qualities of dependability, truthfulness, honesty, and punctuality. The student must also demonstrate service, cooperation, helpfulness, responsibility, leadership, and unselfish loyalty to American ideals.

Each year the students have an essay topic which is given to them from DAR.



American History winners announced at DAR

Article Image Alt Text

Jackie Tidwell (far right), chairman of the American History Committee, Jonathan Hardin Chapter of NSDAR, is shown with this year's winners in the Christopher Columbus essay contest. The winners were special guests along with parents and teachers at the April meeting. The winners are Jackson Tacker, Wortham 8th grader; Ella Samford, Groesbeck 7th grader; and Keylan Asberry, Groesbeck 6th grader.

Photo submitted by Beth Hawkins

Sixth grader Keylan Asberry, of Groesbeck; seventh grader Ella Sanford, of Groesbeck; and eighth grader Jackson Tacker, of Wortham, were named this year's American History essay contest winners by the Jonathan Hardin Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution.
Because this year is the 250th anniversary of the Stamp Act, essays were written on how a colonial family would have reacted to the provisions of this act. Winners were welcomed by DAR member Jackie Tidwell, American History Committee chairman.
Each winner read his essay and was presented with a certificate by Tidwell.

Subscribe to RSS - Jonathan Hardin Chapter