DAR officials announce local essay winners at meeting

Essay winners (from left) are River Champion, Andrew Lawrence, Vanessa Hernandez, Rene Lehman, and Hannah DeFriend pictured with DAR Regent Nancy McSwane.
Courtesy photo

Five area students were named winners in the Jonathan Hardin Chapter essay contests. Hannah DeFriend, a junior at Groesbeck High School, earned first place in the Christopher Columbus Essay Contest. This contest was sponsored by NSDAR and the National Italian American Foundation for students in grades 9-12. The essay theme was “Comparing Ship Technology: The Ships Columbus Used Versus the Ships of Today.” Winning the American History Essay Contest were:


DAR awards Good Citizens

Chosen for the DAR's Good Citizens Awards was Jashaughn Hatcher, Fairfield; Ty Stephen Hale, Groesbeck; and Haylee Young, Teague. The students are pictured with DAR Regent Nancy McSwane.
Courtesy photo

The Jonathan Hardin Chapter, NSDAR, awarded three area students with this year’s DAR Good Citizens Award at their recent meeting. Taking home $50, a certificate, and a U.S. Constitution Handbook were:


Jonathan Hardin Chapter begins new year

DAR Regent Nancy McSwane (left) is pictured with new member Sherrie Clark Wilson, who gave a presentation on her new book at the recent DAR meeting.
Courtesy photo

Jonathan Hardin Chapter, NSDAR, started their new year of meetings with reports from various chairs and members. After hearing the treasurer’s report – from newly elected Chapter Treasurer Diane Pullin – the Chapter Executive Board approved the 2018-19 budget.

The opening program was presented by author, speaker, and new chapter member Sherrie Clark Wilson. In her program, entitled “Courageous Leadership, Distinctions of Powerful Leaders,” she shared her experiences as the first female firefighter and paramedic in the Dallas Fire Rescue Department, as well as how she eventually became a successful leader and business owner in a field related to her 34 year career with DFRD. Her most recent book is “Faith on Fire.”


DAR promotes Constitution Week

DAR members witnessing Judge Linda Grant's proclamation signing are (from left) Carol Anne Biggar, DAR member; Kathleen McKee, DAR recording secretary; Dianne Pullin, DAR treasurer; Judge Linda Grant (seated); Patti Gauntt, DAR member; Nancy McSwane, DAR chapter regent; and Billie Bournias, DAR registrar.
Photo by April Walker

There are two documents of paramount importance to American history: the Declaration of Independence, which forged our national identity, and the U.S Constitution, which set forth the framework for the federal government that is still in use today.

Freestone County Judge Linda Grant recently signed a proclamation promoting Constitution Week, an annual commemoration of the living document that upholds and protects the freedoms central to our American way of life. The annual celebration began Monday, Sept. 17, across the United States.


Good Citizens, scholarship recipient awarded at DAR

Good Citizens Award winners Jaci Forrest and Kayla Kimball are pictured with DAR Regent Aleece McBay. Not pictured is Brittani Oglesbee.
Courtesy photos

Three area students were awarded the DAR Good Citizen Award for 2018 by Regent Aleece McBay at the recent Jonathan Hardin Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) meeting.

The DAR Good Citizens program is intended to encourage and reward the qualities of good citizenship. The program is open to all high school seniors enrolled in public or private schools accredited by their state board of education. The student selected as the school's DAR Good Citizen must have the following qualities:

  • n Dependability – truthfulness, honesty, punctuality
  • n Service – cooperation, helpfulness, responsibility
  • n Leadership – personality, self-control, initiative
  • n Patriotism – unselfish loyalty to American ideals

The three winners of the Good Citizenship Award were:


Tau honored with awards, host first meeting

Tau Chapter member Martha Kirgan presented the ASTEF stipend check to Sharon Kersten, director of Creekside Christian Retreat. Kirgan wrote the application for this stipend allowing Creekside to purchase iPad's and tools.
Photo courtesy of Alicia Smith

Tau chapter members held their first meeting of the new year Sept. 12 and heard an informative program by Jennifer Harrell, CTE Coordinator for Mexia ISD. The chapter was also recognized as Early Bird and Outstanding Yearbook, and the Tau Talk – of which Goldia Liles is publisher – received exemplary newsletter. Tau was also recognized for their chapter website. Virginia Riddle – who updated members on the Alpha State Convention recently held in Houston – was once again honored with the Members in Print award.
Martha Kirgan wrote an application and received the ASTEF stipend for Creekside Christian Retreat, who used the grant to buy iPad's and tools. This is the second year Kirgan has applied for this grant.
Tau member Dr. Lisa Rogers, special education teacher for Groesbeck ISD, was chosen to present her workshop on "Games for the Classroom "during the convention. She lead Tau members attending in one of the games she presented.


Good Citizens awarded by DAR

Haley DeFriend (left), of Groesbeck, placed first in the DAR Good Citizen contest, while Kyle Kirgan (right), of Fairfield, placed second. The students are pictured with Jonathan Hardin Chapter Regent Aleece McBay.

Courtesy photo

Jonathan Hardin Chapter Regent Aleece McBay introduced the recipients for the DAR Good Citizen Award at the recent meeting. This program recognizes outstanding young people who exhibit the qualities of good citizenship in their homes, schools, and communities.

This year's winners were:

  • Haley DeFriend – Groesbeck; first place; $100
  • Kyle Kirgan – Fairfield; second place; $75

The program is open to all high school seniors in Limestone and Freestone counties enrolled in public or private schools accredited by the state board of education. The students are then selected with having qualities of dependability, truthfulness, honesty, and punctuality. The student must also demonstrate service, cooperation, helpfulness, responsibility, leadership, and unselfish loyalty to American ideals.

Each year the students have an essay topic which is given to them from DAR.



American History winners announced at DAR

Jackie Tidwell (far right), chairman of the American History Committee, Jonathan Hardin Chapter of NSDAR, is shown with this year's winners in the Christopher Columbus essay contest. The winners were special guests along with parents and teachers at the April meeting. The winners are Jackson Tacker, Wortham 8th grader; Ella Samford, Groesbeck 7th grader; and Keylan Asberry, Groesbeck 6th grader.

Photo submitted by Beth Hawkins

Sixth grader Keylan Asberry, of Groesbeck; seventh grader Ella Sanford, of Groesbeck; and eighth grader Jackson Tacker, of Wortham, were named this year's American History essay contest winners by the Jonathan Hardin Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution.
Because this year is the 250th anniversary of the Stamp Act, essays were written on how a colonial family would have reacted to the provisions of this act. Winners were welcomed by DAR member Jackie Tidwell, American History Committee chairman.
Each winner read his essay and was presented with a certificate by Tidwell.

Subscribe to RSS - DAR