2018 primary election


Jarvis holds position, Keeney new treasurer

Candidates and family members gathered at the Green Barn in Fairfield Tuesday night for election results.
Photo by April Walker

County Clerk Linda Jarvis held her position in the local government, winning with 1,727 votes against Renee Gregory Reynolds' 1,174 votes. The new Freestone County treasurer is Jeannie Keeney, who won with 1,444 votes while her opponent Tammy Harris came in with 1,329. A runoff election will be held in May for Democrat Pam Whitt and Republican Incumbent Debra L. Hamilton for justice of the peace precinct 2. Whitt had 100 votes and Hamilton totaled 493. Former Teague Police Chief Dan Ramsey came in second in the republican race against Hamilton with 150 votes.



Keeney seeks bid for office of county treasurer

Jeannie Keeney



Editor's note: The Fairfield Recorder will publish free-of-charge an introductory letter from each candidate running for local office. Story location within the paper is not guaranteed. Political advertising is offered at standard rates.

Subscribe to RSS - 2018 primary election