Fairfield thinclads soar to wins at area meet

These outstanding Fairfield student-athletes and coaches represent the 2016 Class 4A-Area track champions. In no particular order are Coaches Stephen Heers (girls coordinator and head track), Stony Coffman (boys head track), Dennis Johnson, Wilbert Hunter, Michael Mooneyham, and Kristy Sweatman; girls track team members are Kim Hayes, Iesha Jenkins, Madison Smith, Alexis Rodriguez, Victoria Donohoo, Abby Chaidez, Martina Mills, DaMeka Shed, Brandi Carter, Dani German, DeErika Canady, Tanna Lide, Keara Birdow, Lauren Cole, and Kaci Bachtel; boys track team members are Tyrin West, Slady Harkam, Kolby Adams, Kam Ransom, Kendall Crocker, Roderick Larkin, A.J. Polk, Grant Hubbert, Terrance Rischer, Ryan Coleman, and Jarret Carpenter.

Photo by Roy Peterson

The highly successful Lady Eagle and Eagle track teams put one more notch in their championship belts this past week, taking good advantage, as winners do, of the familiarity of their "home turf."

After both teams won District Crowns the previous week, they did the same again in the 4A-Waco Region Area Meet, with both teams winning the meet in the very last event of the day!

The girls went into the 4 by 400M relay down by four points to Lorena and garnered the bronze medal to win the meet, 121 to 113, as Lorena didn't have a team in the race. DaMeka Shed finished in second place for high point girl, with 24 points, behind Duke track signee Tracy Janders' phenomenal 38!

<a href="http://www.etypeservices.com/Fairfield%20RecorderID278/"><span style="font-size:110%; font-family: calibri, arial, sans, sans-serif; color: rgb(0, 0, 0);">To read the entire story, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.</span></a></div>

Rate this article: 
No votes yet