Post Oak piano boasts rich history

Article Image Alt Text

Lurline (Chavers) Tisdale is pictured next to the historic 1904 piano which spent most of its existence at the historic Post Oak Baptist Church.
Photo courtesy of Linda Mullen

Lurline Tisdale donated her 1904 W.W. Kimball Company upright piano – which graced the halls of the Post Oak Baptist Church for many of the church’s 90-plus year existence – to the Freestone County Historical Museum recently. The July 23, 1888 issue of The Fairfield Recorder states Post Oak “is situated about 4 miles southeast of Fairfield on the Fairfield and Buffalo road. There amid a beautiful clump of post oaks, whose towering heads and gnarled trunks show they have stood the blasts of many winters, stands the picturesque little church of Post Oak.” The road is now known as FM 1580.

Records on file at the Freestone County Clerk’s office show that Nancy M. (Philpott) Daviss donated 16 acres of land for the church on July 4, 1879, to deacons John W. Wood and R.F. Hatcher. Daviss was wife of former Freestone County Treasurer Wm. Riley Daviss who had previously passed away. Her father was General Horatio Philpott. A lot of Freestone County history and numerous descendants are connected with these family trees. Daviss’ son, Horatio P. Daviss, was sheriff of Freestone County at one time.

J.W. Wood was shown to be the pastor of the Post Oak Grove Baptist Church in 1878, according to records of the Trinity River Baptist Association, and R.J. Hatcher (also seen as Hatter), son-in-law to John Mims (who owned a large portion of land on the headwaters of Keechi Creek, now Mims Creek), was show as church clerk. Wm. Wesley Riley, who donated the land for the nearby cemetery about this same time frame, was a nephew of John Mims. He moved to Freestone County to live near his uncle.

The land transfer was made official by M.A. Riley, wife of W.W. Riley, on May 26, 1905 through a deed of one acre to deacons C.E. Lindsey, Lee Eubank, and J.A. Chavers, recorded in FC Deed Book 20, page 468.

Other early families of the Post Oak community were Elbert C. and Jane (Raiford, Dulaney) Lindsey; James A. and Martha (Solomon) Chavers; L.B. Vernon; Clem B. and Sally (Mims) Dulaney; Jesse and Aceneth (Mims) Hicks; W.B. and Cynthia (McClendon) Childs; James D. and Annie (Oaks) Harrison; Mark and Mary (Nichols) Baker; Elmo Joseph Lambert; Nelson and Alma (Williams) Willard; John R. Boatner and Susie (Pool) Cain; William Oscar and Dodie (Dulaney) Cain; Asa and Elizabeth (Bulin) Stroud; Fred and Autie (Stroud) Richardson; Wm. Lee and Fannie (Wallace) Glazener; and C.M. and Maggie (Riley) Middleton – just to name a few. Many of these families later moved to Teague, including the Rielys and Middletons.

Tisdale was named after the Middleton’s daughter, Lurline DeSoto, and her mother’s family were the ones who donated the land for the cemetery. Mrs. Burkhart


<a href=""><span style="font-size:110%; font-family: calibri, arial, sans, sans-serif; color: rgb(0, 0, 0);">To read the entire story, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.</span></a></div>

Rate this article: 
No votes yet