American History winners announced at DAR

Article Image Alt Text

Jackie Tidwell (far right), chairman of the American History Committee, Jonathan Hardin Chapter of NSDAR, is shown with this year's winners in the Christopher Columbus essay contest. The winners were special guests along with parents and teachers at the April meeting. The winners are Jackson Tacker, Wortham 8th grader; Ella Samford, Groesbeck 7th grader; and Keylan Asberry, Groesbeck 6th grader.

Photo submitted by Beth Hawkins

Sixth grader Keylan Asberry, of Groesbeck; seventh grader Ella Sanford, of Groesbeck; and eighth grader Jackson Tacker, of Wortham, were named this year's American History essay contest winners by the Jonathan Hardin Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution.
Because this year is the 250th anniversary of the Stamp Act, essays were written on how a colonial family would have reacted to the provisions of this act. Winners were welcomed by DAR member Jackie Tidwell, American History Committee chairman.
Each winner read his essay and was presented with a certificate by Tidwell.
After the students and their sponsors and families left to return to school, the regular DAR meeting resumed with the minutes of the March meeting being read by Recording Secretary Nancy Rula, and Nancy McSwane gave the treasurer’s report. Registrar Billie Bournias reported the chapter has 178 members. Rita Walker gave the Indian minute report. Regent Kathleen McKee reported that Mary Ann Space has been a member of DAR for 50 years and was issued a special invitation to attend the May meeting for recognition. She will be unable to attend, so the 50 year certificate will be mailed to her in Georgetown.

To read the entire story, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet